In the heart of the village, right on Main Street. Features an ever-changing menu that incorporates ingredients from more than a dozen local farms. Lots of vegetarian options. Full bar. Bright and comfortable.
Enter the year 1750, when Philipsburg Manor was a thriving milling and trading complex that was home to 23 enslaved individuals of African descent.
A majestic paradise with sweeping river views
Closed for 2020
This luxury hotel is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World network and a destination in itself. The 120-year-old landmark, also a member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America, offers extraordinary views of the Hudson River. Most of the Luxury Suites feature antiques, fireplaces, and four-poster beds. An additional wing includes 24 Junior Suites, Deluxe King, and Deluxe Queen rooms at more moderate prices. The facility boasts an outdoor heated swimming pool (open seasonally) with a mile-long trail wrapping around the breathtaking property .The award-winning New American restaurant Equus offers three distinctly elegant rooms. The newly opened THANN Sanctuary Spa, the first of its kind in the US, offers a wide variety of natural therapy treatments in an incomparable, peaceful setting with stunning design, full facilities, and a 24-hour gym. When you reserve, please ask for special heritage tour packages that include visits to area historic sites such as Kykuit, the Rockefeller Estate, seasonal festivals, and activities on offer from Historic Hudson Valley.
Equus offers fine dining set in the luxurious surroundings of the Castle-on-the-Hudson. The restaurant is perfect for special occasions, business meetings or romantic outings. The greenhouse features views of the Hudson River, while an interior room boasts a roaring fireplace in fall and winter.
Casual Italian restaurant offering traditional pasta dishes and pizza.
Authentic homestyle Thai takeout.
Built in 1685 by the lord of Philipsburg Manor, the Old Dutch Church is the oldest church in New York State. The church is open on many weekend afternoons in summer and fall. The Burying Ground is open year-round. Combine your visit with a trip to Philipsburg Manor, right across the street.
Hosts readings, open mics, and other special events.
Authentic Japanese cuisine.
An upscale, modern American bistro at the Doubletree Hotel.
Family owned and operated tavern serving pubfare since 1947.
Features 145 “studio suites,” larger rooms (not the traditional multi-room suite) with separate areas for eating, sleeping, and sitting. Complimentary continental breakfast, free local shuttle van service, indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, facilities for business communication, snack shop, meeting room, covered parking, and other amenities.
You can visit Washington Irving’s grave in the bucolic Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, just a few miles north of Sunnyside in the village of Sleepy Hollow. Guided tours of the cemetery, located across the street from Philipsburg Manor, are available for a fee from April through November. Self-guided visits by car or on foot are free.
Afternoon and evening tours are a great way to complement your visit to a Historic Hudson Valley site or event.
This hotel has 150 rooms, a full-service restaurant, and an indoor pool.
Contemporary American fare and an extensive whiskey and bourbon list (hence the name). Located in the lobby of the Sheraton Tarrytown.
Lyndhurst, a historic site of the National Trust, is one of the great domestic landmarks of America. A visit to the house and its 67-acre park is a must for all who are interested in 19th-century architecture, decorative arts, and landscape design.
Lyndhurst is adjacent to Washington Irving’s Sunnyside. There are historic and aesthetic connections of interest between the sites, but it is the ability to walk from site to site that has the most special appeal. Visitors may walk the publicly maintained Croton Aqueduct Trail from Lyndhurst to West Sunnyside Lane.
Lyndhurst was designed by Alexander Jackson Davis (1803-1892) in the gothic revival style. Davis completed this first phase in 1842, and designed much of the furniture. In 1864, Lyndhurst’s owner hired Davis to more than double its size.
In 1880 Jay Gould (1836-1892), the railroad magnate, Wall Street tycoon, and prototypical robber baron, purchased the estate and renamed it Lyndhurst. He added a colossal greenhouse in the gothic style by the firm of Lord and Burnham; its cast-iron structure still stands. Gould hired Herter Brothers to redecorate and added paintings by Corot, Courbet, Bouguereau, and others, many still extant.
The important “gardenesque” landscape is by Ferdinand Mangold (1828-1905). Many of the landscape features created by Mangold, his predecessors, and his successors, are preserved, including spectacular specimen trees.
Located in the cellar of historic Biddle House Mansion on the grounds of Tarrytown House Estate, this small tavern and wine cellar features modern twists on American fare.
Cantonese cuisine meets modern twists and local ingredients.
Featuring 120 rooms and 19 suites with free high-speed Internet. Complimentary breakfast, fitness center, indoor pool, lobby with fireplace, and two meeting/function rooms accommodating up to 40 people.
Located in the Westchester Marriott, this steakhouse features USDA prime steaks, chops, fresh seafood, and live Maine lobsters, and an award-winning wine list.